DUI lawyer in chico, Chico criminal defense attorney

DUI lawyer in chico

DUI Lawyer in Chico

    DUI Lawyers Chico: Experienced in DUI Litigation and Defense

    Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious offense in California, carrying significant penalties that can impact your life in various ways. If you are charged with a, it is crucial to understand the potential consequences and seek the guidance of an experienced DUI lawyer in Chico.

    I will share an overview of the penalties for first, second, and third DUI offenses in California, as well as the implications of felony DUI charges. Call my office to discuss the details of your case. I will provide you with a free consultation and defenses regarding your DUI arrest.

    First-Time DUI Penalties in California

    A first-time DUI conviction in California is typically a misdemeanor, carrying the following penalties

    • Informal probation for 3-5 years
    • Up to 6 months in county jail
    • Fines ranging from $390 to $1,000, with total costs potentially reaching several thousand dollars
    • Completion of a 3- or 9-month court-approved alcohol/drug education program (AB541 class)
    • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) for 6 months or a 6-10 month driver’s license suspension

    It is important to note that upon arrest, you have only 10 days to request a DMV hearing to contest your license suspension. Hiring an attorney within this timeframe can help you navigate the administrative process and potentially retain your driving privileges

    Second-Time DUI Penalties in California

    If you are convicted of a second DUI within 10 years of your first offense, the penalties become more severe

    • 3-5 years of summary probation
    • 96 hours to 1 year in county jail
    • Fines ranging from $390 to $1,000, plus additional case-related expenses
    • 18- or 30-month court-approved DUI school
    • 2-year driver’s license suspension or mandatory IID installation for 1 year

    Third-Time DUI Penalties in California

    A third DUI conviction within 10 years carries even harsher penalties

    • 3-5 years of informal probation
    • 120 days to 1 year in county jail
    • Fines ranging from $390 to $1,000, plus additional costs
    • 30-month court-approved alcohol/drug program
    • 3-year driver’s license suspension or mandatory IID installation for 2 years
    • Designation as a “habitual traffic offender” (HTO) by the DMV for 3 years

    Felony DUI Penalties in California

    Certain aggravating factors can elevate a DUI charge to a felony, such as causing injury or death, or having four or more DUI convictions within 10 years. Felony DUI penalties may include

    • 16 months to 3 years in state prison
    • Fines ranging from $390 to $1,000, with total costs potentially exceeding $10,000
    • 30-month DUI school
    • 3-5 years of probation
    • Mandatory IID installation for at least 1 year or a 4-year license suspension
    • Designation as an HTO and a convicted felon

    In cases involving death, penalties can be as severe as life imprisonment and a “strike” under California’s Three Strikes Law

    Additional Consequences of a DUI Conviction

    Beyond the criminal penalties, a DUI conviction can have far-reaching consequences, such as

    • Increased auto insurance rates and SR-22 requirements
    • Professional license suspensions
    • Difficulty securing employment due to background checks
    • Limitations on international travel
    • Impacts on university admissions and financial aid eligibility

    DUI Lawyer in Chico: Get the Help you Need Today

    When you’re facing the life-altering consequences of a DUI charge in California, you deserve an attorney who truly understands what you’re going through and will fight tirelessly to protect your rights. That’s where Maria J. Amaya comes in. As a compassionate and experienced Chico DUI lawyer in Chico, Maria has made it her mission to provide personalized, dedicated representation to each and every one of her clients.

    Ms. Amaya knows that a DUI charge can be overwhelming and scary, but with her deep knowledge of California DUI laws and the California Vehicle Code, Maria has the tools to build a strong defense on your behalf. Take control of your situation and let Maria fight for the justice you deserve. CALL US TODAY TO GET HELP.

Need a lawyer ?

Facing jail time? "Don’t walk into court without representation.”
Injured? " A lawyers is your first step towards recovery.”

call us : 530.897.3700


  • https://northstatedefender.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/01/why-choose-law-icon-1-1.png



  • https://northstatedefender.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/01/why-choose-law-icon-2-1.png



  • https://northstatedefender.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/01/why-choose-law-icon-3-1.png



  • https://northstatedefender.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/01/why-choose-law-icon-4-1.png